University Leadership Group


The University Leadership Group (ULG) is a forum to bring senior leaders together from across the organisation in order to:

  • discuss strategic priorities for the university (e.g., co-create strategic (core) plans)
  • share details of, and advise on, major developments (e.g., cost of living response)
  • share good practice (e.g., strategy engagement with teams)
  • discuss and co-create innovative solutions to complex issues facing the organisation (e.g., how to increase international student recruitment, broad prioritisation of capital expenditure)
  • provide opportunities for collective leadership development

Interactions with University Executive Board (UEB) and other governance structures


  • All members of UEB are also members of ULG.
  • Items which have been discussed and approved in principle at ULG but need an executive decision will be passed to the UEB.
  • The UEB may refer items to ULG for wider consultation or endorsement.

Senate and Council

  • The Vice-Chancellor chairs ULG and will report key issues into Senate and Council via his regular updates.
  • The powers reserved for Senate & Council, including those already delegated to other committees, are unaffected by the creation of the ULG.

Other governance groups

  • The formal committee structure delivers governance and assurance and is unaffected by the creation of ULG.

Meeting dates and paper deadlines

Please find below the upcoming ULG meeting dates and their respective paper deadlines. Note that paper deadlines are one week before the meeting.

If you would like to request an item for the ULG agenda, please email Miranda Routledge.

Meeting datePaper deadline
Monday 16 October 23 - 1400 to 1700 Monday 9 October 2023
Monday 13 November 23 - 1400 to 1700 Monday 6 November 2023
Monday 11 December 2023 - 1400 to 1700 Monday 4 December 2023
Monday 22 January 2024 - 1400 to 1700 Monday 15 January 2024
Monday 19 February 2024 - 1400 to 1700 Monday 12 February 2024
Monday 18 March 2024 - 1400 to 1700 Monday 11 March 2024
Monday 22 April 2024 - 1400 to 1700 Monday 15 April 2024
Monday 20 May 2024 - 1400 to 1700 Monday 13 May 2024
Monday 17 June 2024 - 1400 to 1700 Monday 10 June 2024


  • Nick Jennings
    Vice-Chancellor and President
  • Chris Linton
    Provost and Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Alex Owen
    Chief Financial Officer
  • Richard Taylor
    Chief Operating Officer
  • Rachel Thomson
    Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education and Student Experience)
  • Dan Parsons
    Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation)
  • Jo Maher
    Pro Vice-Chancellor (Sport)
  • Cees De Bont
    Dean of the School of Design and Creative Arts
  • Mark Lewis
    Dean of the School of Sport, Exercise and Health Sciences
  • Jan Godsell
    Dean of 山ּ Business School
  • Liz Peel
    Acting Dean of the School of Social Sciences and Humanities
  • Claudia Eberlein
    Dean of the School of Science
  • Paul Conway
    Dean of the Wolfson School of Mechanical, Electrical and Manufacturing Engineering
  • Chris Rielly
    Dean of Aeronautical, Automotive, Chemical and Materials Engineering
  • Tony Edwards
    Dean of 山ּ in London
  • Malcolm Cook
    Dean of the School of Architecture, Building and Civil Engineering
  • Jennifer Nutkins
    Academic Registrar
  • Charlie Wheeldon
    Acting Director of Student Services
  • Jennifer Johnson
    Director of Research and Innovation
  • Ffyona Baker
    Associate Chief Operating Officer and Director of Organisational Development and Change
  • Miranda Routledge
    Director of Planning
  • Vipin Ahlawat
    Director of IT Services
  • Martyn Edwards
    Director of Marketing and Advancement
  • Rich Wheater
    Director of Sport
  • James Henry
    Director of Finance
  • Graham Howard
    Director of Estates and Facilities Management
  • Veronica Moore
    Director of EDI Services
  • Lily Rumsey
    Director of Global Engagement
  • Sally Wilson
    Commercial Director
  • Rebecca Cain
    Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor (Vibrant and Inclusive Communities)
  • Emily Keightley
    Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor (Vibrant and Inclusive Communities)
  • David Fletcher
    Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor (Sport, Health & Wellbeing)
  • Diwei Zhou
    Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor (Sport, Health & Wellbeing)
  • Kathryn North
    Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor (Climate Change & Net Zero)
  • John Downey
    Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor (Climate Change & Net Zero)
  • Steven Christie
    Associate Pro Vice-Chancellor (Doctoral College)